In his December 16th column for the British tabloid The Sun, Clarkson spoke negatively about Markle’s “influence” on her spouse Prince Harry. The Grand Tour presenter wrote that he “hated her on a cellular level.” He went on to include a reference to an infamous scene from HBO’s Game of Thrones involving Cersei Lannister being dragged through the streets of King’s Landing. “At night, I’m unable to sleep as I lie there, grinding my teeth and dreaming of the day when she is made to parade naked through the streets of every town in Britain while the crowds chant, ‘Shame!’ and throw lumps of excrement at her,” Clarkson wrote. Prince Harry reacted to Clarkson’s column referring to the article as “horrific, hurtful, and cruel towards my wife. It also encourages other people around the U.K. and around the world, particularly men, to go and think that it’s acceptable to treat women that way.” The Prince is currently on a tour to promote his tell-all memoir Spare. Clarkson issued an apology some days later on Twitter. “In a column I wrote about Meghan, I made a clumsy reference to a scene in Game of Thrones and this has gone down badly with a great many people,” Clarkson tweeted. “I’m horrified to have caused so much hurt and I shall be more careful in the future.”

Amazon will be cutting ties with Jeremy Clarkson - 64Amazon will be cutting ties with Jeremy Clarkson - 11Amazon will be cutting ties with Jeremy Clarkson - 97Amazon will be cutting ties with Jeremy Clarkson - 16